Interview: NiGE HOOD

nige hood

1. What’s your name? What city are you representing?

A: My name is NiGE HOOD, and I represent myself by way of Charlotte, NC.

2. As a lyricist, who would you say is your number one influence?

A: Nas, I would say the foundation of my flow came from him.  Nas had a slow delivery, he used the multiple syllables of words, broke them apart, and smoothly lays them down over the beat to construct his verses.  I adopted that flow early as a youngin’ because it allowed me the room to fit all of the deep ideas in my head over a beat.  As opposed to me rapping like Ludacris or something, lol, my songs would sound a lot different.

3. Top 5 Dead or Alive?

A: I’m gonna cheat and instead give the 5 pillars of what made up great Hip-Hop for Myself as a fan:
Nas, UGK, Outkast, Eminem, The N.W.A. lineage (Cube, Dre, Eazy) and A Tribe Called Quest

4. Do you feel Charlotte is going to get the attention it deserves in the industry?

A: I believe that attention is attained via talent, presentation, luck and hard work.  Charlotte definitely has the talent to entertain America and the larger world.  More and more rapidly, the quality of our projects, videos and overall presentation of our artistry is improving.  If we continue to work, work HARD, all we need is the will of God and good timing.  That’s how every movement gains force.

5. Best place to eat in Charlotte.

A: I rocks with Maddie’s Diner and of course I’m getting dessert at Amelie’s French Bakery. Jack Beagles in NoDA has some DANK Mac n Cheese!

6. Are you working on any projects? What do you have out now?

A: Right now I am promoting my recent release, “THOUGHTS Vol. 2”, available on iTUNES, GooglePlay, Amazon and Spotify.

You can find my past projects at www.Soundcloud.com/NiGEHOOD/Sets

7. Any shout outs?

A: Shout out to my team at BLVCKUNIVERSE.com!  The Charlotte music family, Mic Iver, King Callis, Joe Sig, Elevator Jay, Jay Pluss, Quent Young, SeniorYr, Tim Stack$ just to name a fraction of the talent that we have out here in the city.

Shout out to Domo from iKnoDomo.com who holds me down on her site whenever I have a new release or update.  Shout out to my incredible videographers Devon Jackson (@Dev_ShotYa) and also Tyler Cox (@SkyboxVisuals).

Shout out to Durham, NC, Virginia, California and Washington, DC.  I have major support in those spots just to name a few.

FOLLOW NiGE HOOD ON TWITTER

Leave a comment