Interview: Rich Quick

1526156_10202166321660329_2631235230593729275_n

1. Peace! Who are you and where are you from?

I go by the name of Rich Quick+I’m an emcee in the Philly Hip-Hop scene hailing from South Jersey.

2. How long have you been rhyming for?

Way too long!  I started in Elementary School around second grade and took it more and more seriously as time went on.  I grew to learn the different aspects of the game, like freestyling, counting bars, recording and eventually performing.  Part of the reason that I’m so polished as an artist is because I’ve been doing it for so long.

3. What motivates you to create?

I’m not only motivated, but determined.  I have said time and time again that I’m going to make this rap thing work for me.  And I’ve accomplished a lot, but I’m not quite there yet.  That’s what keeps me going.  Knowing that I haven’t reached my ultimate goals yet.  It motivates me to go further.

4. I know you have worked with some pretty credible names in the industry…If you could work with any producer or MC who would it be and why?

I’ve always wanted to work with Busta Rhymes.  He’s a total genius and has managed to maintain his relevancy year after year after year.  I think that would be a great artist to spar with lyrically on a record.

5. I noticed yourself, and other south Jersey artists have a close association with Philadelphia. I also noticed northern Jersey artists having a close association with New York City…What do you think stops NJ from having a bigger music scene and/or major media market of their own?

Well, there’s a lot of reasons for that. I can only speak for myself in saying that; I’m not quite sure why, but in South Jersey, Hip-Hop venues are few and far between.  I can’t even think of one off the top of my head.  I was sort of forced to cross the bridge into Philadelphia in order to have more opportunities to perform. Once I stepped on the scene though, I realized the opportunity to succeed in Philly was far greater than South Jersey.  There is a much more tangible Hip-Hop culture.  And I’d assume it’s the same in North Jersey currently, in terms of New York.  But with all of that being said; I’ve still performed really awesome showz in both North Jersey and South Jersey.  It’s absolutely possible to make it work.

6. You have quite the track record..What are you working on right now that we should be expecting in the near future?

There are so many things in the works that I’m not even certain if I can speak on all of them.  I have a project in the works with CORFU Am Down brother ASK? Produced by Rob Devious.  As well as two other projects with some real heavy hitters.  More info on that as it becomes available!  We haven’t made any official announcements yet, but I’m stoked to get the ball rolling on these.  Be on the look out!

7. Any last shout outs?

Shouts out to CORFU Am Down.  That’s my clique!  And my main man Skrewtape, his album No Filter is dropping soon produced by US Natives and I’m fortunate enough to be featured on it.  Stay tuned!

Leave a comment